#9: Fara W Ostrołęka, Ostrołęka, Poland

On to post card #9 of my collection, another vintage post card from Poland. This small town was invaded by German forces only one year after this post card was dated. “Fara” means “Parish”.

My first impression of this post card is that while I don’t really believe in spirits, if ghosts existed anywhere, this church would definitely have them. The aged black and white photo, with skeleton-like trees and an uneven picket fence – the church looming under an ominous sky….

It almost seems like this church knew what was coming.

Fara W Ostrołęka

PC7

But after some digging on Google, I found it! I don’t know why, but I was incredibly relieved to know that this church withstood the horrors of WWII, and in fact looks cheerful and in even better condition.

I suppose it reminds me that even in the darkest moments of our history, hope and goodness will prevail.

From sebanjawor at Panoramio



Categories: Poland, Post Cards

Tags: ,

2 replies

  1. I love the before and after shot. I’m surprised that the church survived the war.

    • I was too! I think the town was decimated on the human side of things, but it seems the buildings withstood the war fairly well. I know there are some towns in Poland (like old town Warsaw) that had to be completely rebuilt after the war.

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry Curated

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element.

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography