#15: Wieliczka Salt Mine

I’ll post two postcards today, because I’ve actually already written a post about this destination! Wieliczka Salt Mine near Krakow, Poland is an amazing mine that has was in operation from the 13th century until 2007. The tunnels themselves are over 190 miles (300km) long!

The mine has three chapels and an entire cathedral, all contained within its subterranean confines. The image below is of the Chapel of Saint Kinga. It supposedly has some of the best acoustics in Europe!

image_2 image_3I think my favorite part of this post card is the fact that there are two tiny nuns in the chapel. That is a foreign sight to me – we do not see many nuns nowadays, especially here in the States.

I can’t wait to go see this engineering marvel when we visit Poland this summer!

Categories: Poland, Post Cards

Tags: , , , ,

8 replies

  1. Random fact about me: I picked up a large salt rock at Wieliczka on a trip as a kid. I brought it back to the US, an everyone I showed it to licked. My sister, my parents, probably all my friends. Still have, thought its was smaller after years of the salt reacting dissolving with the H20 in the air.

    • That’s cool… I wonder if you’re allowed to do that nowadays? They probably make you buy it through a gift shop or something.

      • I did get it in a gift shop. I can’t remember if the mine was still active when I went. I was a while ago, but I remember seeing both mining shafts, and entire salt church, and sculptures. It seemed odd to have a full on church made out of salt in the mines, but after the Chilean disaster, it makes intuitive sense to me.

        Another fun fact about Wieliczka: one of my friends got phone reception down there!

  2. Can you still go into the cave?

  3. Diane – it’s way bigger than a cave. There’s a bunch of spaces in the mine, including the full sized church which I believe in picture in the postcard.

  4. I remember the elevator ride down to the salt mine itself seemed to take forever. I’m going again with my daughter, Jen (we are the mother-daughter team she talks about!) The first time I went there was 30 some-odd years ago with my mom! Won’t it be wonderful for us this year as another mother-daughter team!!

    • Hi mom 🙂 I’m glad you are as excited as I am for this trip! And that you are the “resident expert” on Europe by virtue of the fact that you’ve been there before, while this is my first time!

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

