Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through My Eyes

It’s been a couple of months since my last photo challenge, but I really liked this week’s theme. The idea of this week’s photo collection is to illustrate a story, or the thing that was going through your mind as you composed the shot.

“We see many excellent shots out there in which a photographer’s intent is clear: where he or she leads us to the photo’s subject or main focus — using light, composition, and other criteria — and is able to convey what they see in their mind at the moment of capture.”

The photos I’ve collected for the challenge this week each illustrate something I was trying to capture as I took the picture. Color, timing, emotion, etc – so far I’ve been getting pretty good at capturing these individually. But I’m definitely having trouble capturing more than one or two at a time in a single photograph. I’m hoping to spend some time developing my photography skills in our upcoming mother/daughter trip to Europe.

For now, here are the things I tried to capture. Let me know in the comments which one stands out the most to you!

Color

Timing

DSCN5928

Spatial Arrangement

Emotion

These are the key things I think about when I’m about to take a picture. One of these things catches my eye, I snap the picture, and then I cross my fingers and hope I captured the idea.

While I have the memory card capacity to take several thousand photos while we’re in Europe, I think I’ll focus more on setting up my shots so that the average quality of my photographs goes up. I recently read Ming Thein’s post about what makes an outstanding photograph, and a few paragraphs down the page, he describes three types of photographers:

a) upload everything, no QC or editing whatsoever, mostly poor images;
b) upload most things, has one or two really good images, mostly mediocre;
c) only uploads good stuff, and shows a consistent level of quality.

I think everyone would like to be in group C, many people are in group B (I think that’s where I fit in), and I’m sure many people hope they aren’t in group A. He mentions that people in Group B are “unable to deconstruct their successful images into a series of things that they can replicate”, and I think this is the problem I keep running in to while taking photos.

Part of this comes down to being rushed – I’m trying to see everything all at once and don’t always take enough time to set up a good shot, that incorporates good lighting and composition, while adjusting settings to capture the right colors, all while trying to catch a fragment of the emotion that motivates me to take the photo in the first place.

I think this trip is turning from a mother/daughter trip to a mother/daughter artistic retreat 🙂

What’s your strategy for taking photos? Do you take tons of photos and look for the best ones later? Or do you spend a lot of time setting up the shot?

Categories: Photography, travel theme photos

Tags: , , , ,

9 replies

  1. Used to be totally group A, spending hours going through the computer to delete, then gave that up and uploaded and burned all. Oh, my poor children. In a recent photography class, the goal was group C. So I’m defiantly a B heading toward a C. The instructor summed up the same philosophy. Take the right picture first, watching light and compostion. Then delete FROM THE CAMERA first. Best advice she gave me. My goal is no photo editing whatsover. Starting with my post titled “Natures Usual Pose: Up, for the Above Challenge, all photos with exception of a few older are totally as is, unedited. Editing to make good photos is such hard time-consuming work. She said, “skip all that hard work. Take the right picture the first time.” Spending a little time setting up the shot first saves tons of time later. Plus, the computer is not carrying tons of “baggage.” 🙂

  2. My photo taking strategy total depends on my mood and what I am shooting. I have done both things: take a bunch and weed through them later and take a lot of time to set up a shot. It really does depend. But I do download everything I take, almost right away. I do not trust the back of my camera to tell me what is a good shot and what isn’t. Then I have the world’s biggest trash can on my computer, which I empty pretty regularly 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m sure I’ll do a combination of the two while we’re in Europe. I think I’ll spend a dozen or so shots capturing everything I can of a place when we first get there, but then slow down and focus on the details. I agree that the camera isn’t always the best place to see a good photo – sometimes the ones I think look great on the camera still need to be cropped or adjusted afterwards!

  3. This is a wonderful collection and I think you were able to capture those themes perfectly. I especially like the colourful butterflies. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Photography Practice: Dahlia « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

