Local Globetrotting

It’s been a while since my last post – we’ve been so busy lately! It’s been a blast, but like most of you know, it’s hard to find time to write about travel while doing so much traveling.

photoApril 27Hershey – Brewery Tour and Botanical Gardenimage_1

May 04Harrisburg – Cinco De Mayo Celebration

May 10Washington DC – Girls’ Weekend

May 17Virginia Beach – Visiting friends

image_2

But the crazy schedule doesn’t seem to be slowing down:

May 25Harrisburg – Memorial Day Festivities

June 01Connecticut – Mom’s Birthday

June 08 – Ithaca – College Reunion

June 15 – Harrisburg – Beer Fest 2013

June 22Harrisburg – Packing for Europe!

June 26Europe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I wanted to get in this post to catch up, and to shake off the burn-out I felt after trying to post so many post card posts. While I love my post card collection and I really enjoy sharing them here, it’s not my primary purpose for blogging. So when I was trying to write about a new post card daily, with no time for writing about regular travels, it got a little overwhelming.

So going forward, I want to ask: what do you want to see more of here at Wander One Day?

Let me know in the poll below, or leave me a comment in the comment section!

Categories: Local

Tags: , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I like trip reports. It’s really helpful to see how other regular people manage to travel a lot. A lot of your trips would be manageable weekend destinations for me, so I’d be really interested in the trip reports. By the way, I’m in Paris now, and I’ve got some thoughts about avoiding crowds. I might blog about it, and I might email you (do you have contact page?). Also, check the weather in Europe. So far, Paris is really cold in late May. Low 50s with rain over Memorial Day weekend. It should warm up by late June, but the cold front may continue.

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I agree the trip reports are helpful – I know I like to read them on other blogs!

      I’d like to hear what you have to say about avoiding the crowds – we’ll have to fit a lot into a short time there and we’d rather not spend all of our time waiting in lines.

      It’s still a little far out (~1 month) to accurately see the weather for our trip, but you can bet I’ll be keeping a close eye on it! Most of our trip won’t be spoiled by rain, since it will be a lot of sightseeing, museums, and eating delicious food, but things like Monet’s gardens would be pretty miserable in the rain.

      If you want to get in touch with me via email, my email is my blog name at gmail.com. And thanks for suggesting the contact page, I can’t believe I don’t have one yet!

  2. I think trip reports would be great. But, I guess it depends on what’s been working for you so far.

    • Thanks for the comment! I’ve been pretty haphazard in the past, posting some trip reports, photo challenges, post cards, etc. I like to mix it up, but I’m always interested to hear what visitors to my blog like to read as well. One thing I learned that does NOT work for me is posting one single type of post every day for a month… that A to Z post card challenge in April burned me out too quickly! But I took the time to travel instead, and now I’ve got plenty of fun things to write about 🙂

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

Traveling the world and doing good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

