#31: Legoland

L is for Legoland:  Featured Post Card for the A to Z Challenge.

IMG_0825

My Aunt Sheila sent us this post card when she was visiting Legoland with my young cousins. She had just moved out to Arizona, after growing up in Connecticut and living in Massachusetts for a while (One year, we got to spend Thanksgiving in Plymouth, Massachusetts like the Pilgrims, which was very exciting to a 9 or 10 year old!).

While I’ve never been to Legoland, it sounds like something I would have enjoyed as a kid. My brother and I used to spend hours building things – Lincoln Logs and Legos were some of my favorite toys. I remember trying to build the equivalent of RVs with our Legos – four measly little wheel assemblies with long bodies and tall sides. We didn’t really have many of the thin flat pieces that would allow us to build out and then up, so our ‘houses on wheels’ ended up looking like stadium seating.

I get really confused by all the new-fangled Lego kits for sale now. I don’t think we had any ‘kits’ when we were young – just miscellaneous blocks and accessories. I would be hesitant to even attempt one of the new ones, because I would be worried following the plan would take all the imagination out of it. If I want to assemble something per the directions, I just buy some Ikea furniture!

But Legoland might be something to try when we have kids some day. Located near San Diego, it could easily be added to a trip to Southern California.

IMG_0826

***

I’m participating in the Blogging from A-Z Challenge this year! Over the month of April, I’ll be featuring my post cards for all 26 letters of the alphabet. So get ready to see more of my massive post card collection!

***

 

Categories: A to Z Challenge, California, Post Cards

Tags: , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Well, legos are the BEST!!! (That, and play-doh. If there was a play-doh land, that would be a lot of fun!). There’s a legoland near San Diego, we never stop by though. =/

  2. We took our boys (then 8 & 10) to Legoland last year for the 2nd time figuring it would be our last hoorah before they’re too old for it. We all thoroughly enjoyed it, especially because now they have a water park attached. Legos are great! If you go in the future with kids, you just may enjoy it!

    Come check out my A to Z! Jen Hemming and Hawing Again

  3. I don’t have kids, but I want to go to Legoland myself.

  4. I have a fond memory of the Christmas that we got Lincoln Logs, and they were the hit of the holiday. They came in a tall “Quaker Oats” style container, and were almost impossible to get back in. But after my Dad stepped on loose logs a few times, getting everything back into the container was not an option. ~James

  5. Big kid that I am, I had a great time there. 🙂 Our son was always mad about Lego and we’ve been to quite a few of the Legolands with him, starting with Billund when he was just 4 (I needed an excuse to visit Denmark) We did the California one quite a few years later, when we were visiting the Disney park there. Great fun. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 2007: Legoland | MASCrapping

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

