#29: Honeymoon at Hotel Taft

H is for Honeymoon at Hotel Taft:  Featured Post Card for the A to Z Challenge.

I previously wrote about a post card from my grandparents to my great grandparents, sent from Dayton, OH while they were on a cross-country trip as newlyweds. While that post card was written in Polish (which my grandparents and great-grandparents spoke), this current post card is written in English.

image (28)

It seems to be more of a personal memento for my grandmother to her children than a “Thinking of You” post card, as my grandmother wrote:

” Daddy and I spent our Honeymoon night at this place, Nov. 5, 1949″

So my grandparents got married in Connecticut, and that night went to Times Square in New York City. This was a fancy location – all of the rooms had radio and some even had television! (For reference two years earlier, in 1947, there were over 40 million radios in the US, but only about 44,000 television sets. Color TV wouldn’t be introduced for another few years.)

And the most interesting thing of all is that I’ve been by this hotel (since renamed The Michelangelo) many, many times, and I never knew my grandparents spent their honeymoon night there! We were there last year, never knowing that my grandparents walked along that very same street over 60 years ago.

photo (5)

***

I’m participating in the Blogging from A-Z Challenge this year! Over the month of April, I’ll be featuring my post cards for all 26 letters of the alphabet. So get ready to see more of my massive post card collection!

***

 

Categories: A to Z Challenge, New York, Post Cards

Tags: , ,

5 replies

  1. I’m lovin’ this “sentimental journey!” -mom : )

  2. LOVE this! Vintage postcards are so cool and I wish I didn’t feel guilty collecting them haha. Bring the postcard back!!
    A to Z Challenge Blogger http://www.katkatravels.com

  3. That the coffee shop is featured on the postcard is awesome!

  4. Hey, I was going to say, “Love this!” and katka beat me to it. This is so awesome! I used to work kitty-corner from the hotel where my parents honeymooned. I did know this at the time. In fact, the view from my cube was on the hotel. I wanted to have my parents’ 50th anniversary there but I don’t think they have a banquet room. And, I don’t have the money if they did. They have since changed the name of the hotel and I hear they have pictures of naked ladies up.

    I decided to be awesome and subscribe via email. I love travel and family history and stuff.

    Check out my A to Z! Jen Hemming and Hawing Again

  5. Jen, I love these postcard posts. And it’s even better that they’re personal. ~James

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

