World Music Workout Playlist

When I was at the gym this morning, I realized that my most effective workout playlist is travel-themed and samples music from various cultures, so I thought I would share it with you all!

I’m not sure if the songs are just more motivating, or if they remind me why I’m putting in so much effort (Machu Picchu, I haven’t forgotten you!). But one thing is for sure – it really helps me work up a sweat!

I tend to do my cardio on the elliptical, so my notes are related to a 30-minute workout on that equipment. If I’m feeling particularly lazy, I’ll just fit in this 30-minute elliptical workout and call it a day, but today I had plenty of energy, so I had my 25-minute personal training session (which focuses on strength training) and then completed the cardio workout below.

  1. Yoshida Brothers – Inside the Sun Remix

    Great to get warmed up and into the groove! I like to keep the resistance at medium (5-6) and the incline low (1-2), and just relax/loosen up while matching my steps to the beat.
  2. African Herbsman – Bob Marley (Remixed By Sen Dog Of Cypress Hill)
    I like to turn up the resistance (10-11) and slow it down a bit for a long hard climb (incline around 8-10). At the end of the song I’ll drop the resistance to 5 for about 30 seconds of recovery.
  3. Jai Ho – A. R. Rahman (from Slumdog Millionaire)
    Time to up the speed and resistance again. Here I like to make it a little tougher (resistance 8-10, incline 5-6), because the song is great at keeping you going when you feel like you’re exhausted. Right when you’re feeling like quitting, it splits into the beat-heavy dance section and you get a second wind.
  4. Hips Don’t Lie / Bamboo – Shakira feat. Wyclef Jean (from FIFA World Cup 2006)

    Now for a little recovery. I like to turn the resistance down (5-6) and the incline up (8-10) and just go along with the beat.
  5. Indian Fever – David Starfire
    This next song helps you to work up to the next song, so I like to take it a little easy here. I put the resistance up (8-10) and the incline down (2-4) and just zone out to the beat.
  6. River Deep, Mountain High – Glee Cast Version
    Almost done, so just gotta push through this final high intensity song. I like to keep the resistance low (5-6) and incline flat for one last sprint. It might not be “world music” to someone in the US, but it is a fantastically motivating workout song!
  7. Barcelona Sunsets – Armik
    This is a great cool down song, because it is very relaxing and chill after the last song. Here I just turn the resistance down (3-4) and relax my legs, straighten my posture, and take some deep breaths.

Do you have any other suggestions for world-inspired workout music?

Categories: Entertainment

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Nice! Thank you, I’m always looking for more workout tracks. I’ve recently become a bit obsessed with Alors on Danse by Stromae – an Afro-Belgian DJ singing in French (www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pKrVB5f2W0). The tracks pace is good for that point in your workout when you transition from a warm up walk to a jog.

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I checked it out and I do like the steady beat, it seems like it would be good to zone out for a few minutes with this track 🙂 I want to get back into running now that it’s warming up a bit (though I’m a bit nervous, I haven’t gone for a run since I broke my foot last year, I’ve been sticking to low impact cardio). I’ll have to start thinking about a playlist for that!

  2. These songs will definitely get you pumped up…I love Jai Ho!

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

Traveling the world and doing good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

