Engineering Problems

I have been a major slacker lately when it comes to posting, because my time has been consumed almost entirely by two things:

  1. Incredibly busy projects at work – we can barely keep up despite 100% utilization and a few hours of (unpaid) overtime per week
  2. Incredibly frustrating study problems for the PE exam – this test is a doozy: 8 full hours of engineering problems, averaging only 6 minutes of solution time per problem

Mind you, I am a water/wastewater engineer who works primarily with pipe lines, pump stations, and treatment plants… so all of the traffic, structural, stormwater, and geotechnical engineering problems are outside of the scope of my day-to-day work. In fact, I haven’t done some of this work since I was a sophomore in college, nearly 8 years ago! Hence the need for review. And because I am taking the Civil: Water Resources version of the exam, I need to spend a lot of time reviewing the type of work I’ve done at my job over the last four years: it makes up 70% of the exam!

Just so you know I’m not making up the need to study like an adderal popping college student (though without the adderal and without the free time of a college student, unfortunately), I’ve posted a few sample problems below.

Anyone want to take a crack at solving them? Can you do each problem in 6 minutes or less?

engproblems2engproblems1

Categories: Engineering

Tags: , , ,

8 replies

  1. I read this yesterday and it really made me smile. Eight hours???? A whole working day of your life? Ouch! Many moons ago when I began working as a trainee accountant, statistics were part of our course. And that was ok, because at least that was interesting. But when we switched over to proper maths and something called linear programming, they may as well have been speaking a language from another galaxy. So while I can look at the first one and work it out, my mind has been metaphorically sticking its fingers in its ears and going “ha ha – can’t hear you”. Glad those days are mostly gone for me, save for putting proposal costings together, of course!

    • Yep – 8 hours – and the worst part is that it’s actually a working day of my life – the test is on a Friday! Therefore I have to take a personal day just to take the exam. My company will reimburse me for the $400 registration fee if I pass the test, but they won’t give me my personal day back (boo!).

      I remember taking linear programming in college and it sucked 😦 So did the Physics course that covered waves and optics, and a bunch of other courses I never used again.

      But it’ll be worth it to study like a crazy person for the next month and a half, because if I pass the test, not only do my testing fees get reimbursed, but I get a $1000 raise at the next fiscal year (July 1). Gotta love a bit of concentrated effort for a permanent raise!

  2. Hey Jen. This is the sort of stuff that frequently goes unnoticed by the general public, but it’s good to know that there’s someone out there taking care of it. ~James

    • That’s frequently my comment when someone who doesn’t know much about engineering asks what I do. If we do our jobs correctly, you don’t even think about us – you turn on your faucet, flush your toilet, and everything works like magic. The only problem with this “invisible” approach is that people get upset when it costs money to repair pipes and pumps and treatment plants.

Trackbacks

  1. #21: Cornell University « Wander One Day
  2. The 3 Most Peaceful Places I’ve Ever Been « Wander One Day
  3. Daydreaming of Weekend Getaways « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

