#20: Hoover Dam

I hope everyone in the Northeast US didn’t have too much trouble with winter storm Nemo this past weekend! I was supposed to go to visit my family for my Gram’s surprise 80th birthday party, but Nemo had other plans and dropped 3 feet of snow on New England. People are still digging out, trying to clear roads and driveways enough to let cars pass. I’m glad I chose to stay in Pennsylvania this weekend – we got about 1/2 inch of snow that melted within hours!

Despite not going to Connecticut, my time has not been entirely free. I’m about to round the two-month mark for my Professional Engineering exam – in just under 60 days, I will (hopefully, as soon as I get my letter allowing me to register) be sitting for an 8-hour test that measures the past 4 1/2 years of my professional life, as well as the previous 4 years of my life as a college student.

The test is supposed to measure my competency in both engineering in general (civil, structural, construction, transportation), and my specific field of focus (water and wastewater and environmental engineering). So this weekend I really buckled down and studied – for hours and hours. While the test is multiple choice (and should therefore be pretty easy), they select the answer choices so that if you do not calculate it exactly, you can’t easily guess at the answer.

So – to honor my commitment to engineering, today’s post card is from the Hoover Dam!

image (13)

photo (1)

The Hoover Dam was the first time I actually remember being impressed by things designed by engineers. I was 13 years old, on a 3-week cross country trip with my family, and we stopped at the Hoover Dam between our stay in Las Vegas and our trip to the Grand Canyon.

My dad is an engineer, so of course we had to take a tour of the inside of the dam. I’m not sure if we took the tour as more of a learning experience for my brother and me, or if we took the tour because my dad was interested!

Either way, I remember being incredibly impressed that they built such a large structure in only 5 years! While I was growing up, my dad undertook several “construction projects” in our backyard. He built a retaining wall at the foot of our sloped yard, he built a large wooden building to house tools and other items, and he built an above ground pool for us  (when the sides wouldn’t meet by about 2″, my dad took it as an opportunity to teach me geometry, as a fifth grader, to determine how much we had to change the radius of the curved ends of the oval pool to make the sides meet). All of these projects required major earthworks (i.e. renting a backhoe or other earth moving equipment), and they each took several months at a minimum.

Obviously the scale of our backyard projects and the Hoover Dam are nearly incomparable, but even at such a young age I realized that 5 years to build a massive structure of concrete was a blink of an eye. (For comparison, consider that even with modern construction methods and equipment, the bridge at the Hoover Dam took 5 years to build. The Three Gorges Dam in China took almost 20 years from start to finish.)

Even now, I’m awestruck by construction. I am currently working on two construction projects for upgrades to existing wastewater treatment plants, which are each approximately 2 years in duration. The sheer complexity of these projects make me wonder how on earth anything got constructed before the age of computers, when emails and excel files could be used to track all of the details in real-time.

Categories: Arizona, Memories, Post Cards

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. The Hoover Dam is pretty cool. It’s so hot in the summertime, though. Must be all that concrete. But, it definitely is a place for some beautiful photo-taking. =)

  2. Agree with you. I first went to the Hoover Dam as 6 year old and remembered thinking wow. Just went back over 30 years later and it’s just as impressive!

    • What a fun memory! I can’t wait to go back and visit someday – massive engineering projects fascinate me, but I never got to drive over the brand new bridge they built, despite living in Arizona for a few years. Every time we drove by it was under construction, but it looked impressive from below. A bridge and a dam in one visit are like a civil engineer’s ideal day trip!

Trackbacks

  1. #21: Cornell University « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

Traveling the world and doing good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

