Regrouping and Daydreaming

Sorry for the slowdown in posting, it’s been a crazy 6 days!

  • I spent three days in Nashville for a sorority event.
  • The sorority chapter I advise is going through formal recruitment this week and I’ve been providing support and advice.
  • I conducted two alumni interviews for my university (as an alumna, I interview prospective students to supplement their application).
  • I had an appointment with the eye doctor and ordered new glasses (I went for something fun and slightly retro this time – can’t wait to get them!).
  • I donated blood, since I have a blood type in high-demand.
  • I went to the gym a few times to prepare for my personal training session on Friday (though I had to take a break today due to donating blood).

In my few spare moments, I took the time to regroup and summarize my points and miles accounts. While my trip to Nashville was fun, and I’m really looking forward to our mother/daughter trip to Europe, I’m always on the lookout for the next trip.

  1. First things first, I wanted to check my vacation balance at work. I need to have enough vacation time for the trip to Europe, with a little leeway in case I am too jet-lagged to go back to work the day after I return, or in case I want to take the day off on the day we leave. I see that I have about 4 days unaccounted for between now and the end of my trip. That means I can easily take a few three-day weekends, or one nearly week-long trip.
  2. Next, I wanted to see what my points balances are. This was easy, but took some time. 

Points Account

Current Balance

Future Balance

(hotel) Priority Club

30,644 points

~

(air) Airtran

33 credits
2 Business class upgrades

(air) British Airways

1,363 Avios

50,000 Avios

(air) American Airlines

7,220 Miles

90,000 Miles
~

(misc) Ultimate Rewards

8,805 points

~

A few key notes about the available points/miles:

  • Ultimate Rewards points are very flexible. I can transfer them 1:1 to Priority Club for a hotel night, or Airtran (via Southwest) or British Airways for flights. There are other partners, like Amtrak, Marriott, United, Hyatt, etc, but I don’t have enough of those points to make a difference. On the other hand, 9,000 points transferred to Southwest during a sale can mean a round trip flight to a nearby location, or a one way flight to somewhere far away.
  • Priority Club hotels range from 5,000 to 25,000+ points per night, depending on where the hotel is located and its quality (Intercontinental goes for 40k points per night, while most Holiday Inns run about 20k per night). If I choose my destination based Points Break Hotels (5k points/night), that would cover 6 nights.
  • Airtran requires 16 credits for a round trip flight in economy class, so I have enough for two round trip flights. Unlike its partner Southwest, Airtran flies to destinations like Aruba, Jamaica, and Mexico. If I plan a trip by myself, I’ll probably go to one of these destinations. If my husband can get time off of work and I use these credits for our flights, we’ll probably go to Orlando or somewhere similar so we can combine a vacation with a trip to visit his grandparents (I’ve only met them once).
  • British Airways points are pending. I signed up for the credit card last summer, with a bonus of 50k Avios after the first purchase, and another 50k points after the first year. I used the first 50k to book our flights to Europe, and I am waiting for the second 50k to post. Then, I can use them for two more round trip flights to Europe, or to another destination.
  • American Airlines miles are also pending. The miles required for travel range from 12,500 one way for off-peak domestic travel, to 20,000 one way to Europe. If I take advantage of the trick to get a free one way to Hawaii, I could easily get a trip to Hawaii and to Central America out of those American Airlines points. In fact, with 95,000 miles, I could book round trip tickets for two people to Peru and to Hawaii:
    1 – from NYC to Peru,
    2a – from Peru to NYC (stopover)
    2b – and NYC to Hawaii,

    3 – from Hawaii back to NYC.
    All I would have to pay for is the taxes/fees associated with these flights, but not the fares themselves!

To / From

To / From

Award Type

Economy Class

Miles Required

Taxes And Fees^
(Minimum-Maximum)

Wholly Within Continental U.S./Canada

MileSAAver

12,500

$2.50-$62.00

Within and Between the Continental U.S./
Canada/Mexico/The Caribbean

MileSAAver
Off-peak

12,500

$2.50-$106.00

Continental U.S./Canada/ Mexico/Caribbean

Hawaii

MileSAAver
Off-peak

17,500

$2.50-$75.00

North America

Central America, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru or Venezuela

MileSAAver
Off-peak

15,000

$2.50-$149.00

North America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay or Uruguay

MileSAAver
Off-peak\

20,000

$2.50-$98.00

North America

Europe

MileSAAver
Off-peak

20,000

$2.50-$236.00

Categories: Credit Cards, Daydreaming, Planning, Summary

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Oh man, that so much more legible than my balance sheet. How did you make that table?

Trackbacks

  1. Boston here we come! « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

