My Gut and My Brain: Booking with Airbnb in Krakow

Planning for our mother/daughter trip to Europe is rolling right along! I just booked our lodgings for our three nights in Krakow, only a few minute’s walk from the main square. We will be renting an entire apartment with semi-separate sleeping areas, complete with small kitchen, washing machine, and (most critical) internet – all for a cost of  $42 USD per night. Not too bad!

When I wrote about my initial research for places to stay in Krakow, I searched through images of apartments and hotels in Krakow, making note of my “gut reaction” regarding which ones were attractive and looked clean and safe. I found a few nice looking places for as low as $25/night.

But they were a good half mile or more from Old Town. This is where the “brain” comes in to narrow down the choices. We wanted to be right in the thick of things, so while this apartment wasn’t on our original list, we decided this option was the best choice. It’s still much less expensive than hotels in the area, so all in all we’re excited!

The apartment faces Plac Szczepanski, which is only a couple blocks from the main square.

Now that I’ve booked one place on Airbnb (Venice), the booking process this time was much quicker and easier. And our host so far has been incredibly helpful, despite the fact I’ve only been talking to him for a few hours! He’s suggested sights to see and transportation to those destinations, and has given me a few links to local tour companies (I found some tours on Viator, but hadn’t really found any other options yet).

Best of all, after searching the website What’s On When, I realize we’ll be in town for the STREETART Festival!

Krakow’s STREETART Festival keeps the centuries-old tradition of street performance alive for modern audiences. The revelry is centred on the medieval-style Old Town Market Square and sees magicians, jugglers and puppeteers tumble and perform in front of rapt audiences.

Organised by Teatr KTO, the festival fuses medieval street performance with modern theatrical trends, and is one of the oldest festivals of its kind in Central-Eastern Europe. Expect lively music, colourful costumes and a host of special effects. The festival draws large crowds each summer and is suitable for all the family.

zacatecas (meksyk 2008) / fot. witold siemaszkiewicz

 

 

Categories: Krakow, Lodgings, Planning

Tags: , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Have fun in Nashville! It’s on my radar, so I’m looking forward to your trip report.

  2. I absolutely LOVE booking with Airbnb! The prices are always much better than hotels — and most of the time even better looking!

    • That’s what I’ve found so far. I can’t believe I never thought to try the site before! I’m often wary of taking long trips because I can’t afford the $100+/night for a hotel. Now I have other options 🙂

  3. Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. AirBnB is such a great gift to the budget traveler. Looks like you found a great place, and I hope the trip is fantastic. Cheers!

  4. I am mildly intrigued and have been dotting around your website for a while. I guess your Polish postcards caught my eye first. Where did you find them? I have a pretty old postcard collection myself, but I stopped collecting a while ago. It was getting out of hand, but I still find them interesting.
    I have family in Krakow and was wondering what had decided you to visit Poland I tried to track back through your exploits, but gave up and decided to ask you instead. I came here courtesy of Gallivance.

    • Hi! Thank you for stopping by my site! All of the Polish postcards I have are inherited through my mother, from her side of the family. Many of my mom’s relatives, who have since passed away, sent post cards to my grandmother and great grandmother, and my mom inherited them as keepsakes.

      This Polish heritage is what made us decide to include several places in Poland on our mother/daughter Europe trip. While I don’t know that I have any distant cousins in any of the cities we are visiting, my mom wanted to go to many of these places too (for the first time, or again, since she visited in the 1970’s with her mother).

      You said you had a pretty old post card collection – where do yours originate?

      • Ah, I missed that you had a Polish family connection.
        My postcards are just from my travels. I wasn’t so good with a camera in pre-digital days, and it guaranteed I had some good shots of the places I visited and loved.

        • That’s fun! I started my collection with post cards from when I traveled as a kid – they were the only souvenir my parents were willing to pay for sometimes! Later, when my mom cleaned out an old box and found these, she gave them to me for my collection. Thank you for visiting!

Trackbacks

  1. My Gut and My Brain: Booking with Airbnb in Paris « Wander One Day
  2. Trip Planning Timeline: Months in Advance « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

Traveling the world and doing good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

