#19: Texarkana, Texas

I don’t remember if I’ve been to Texarkana. But I do have a post card from Texarkana, Texas. My cousin moved out to Texas from Massachusetts for college, and my aunt and uncle dropped her off in the midst of “brutal heat and wild cat thunderstorms!” My cousin then spent a while in New Mexico and Arizona, before deciding the South/Southwest wasn’t her thing, and she moved back to Massachusetts.

image (2)

photo

I’m pretty sure we drove through Texarkana on our way to or from San Antonio, but I was so little at the time (6 or 7 years old, I think), that I don’t remember much of that trip. I’m going to count it anyway for the purposes of the next part of this post!

So, because I don’t have much to say about Texarkana itself, I’m going to take a page out of Nicole’s book over at Barton Hollow and pull a Johnny Cash.

In bold are the places I’ve been:

“I was totin’ my pack along the dusty Winnemucca road
When along came a semi with a high and canvas covered load
If you’re going to Winnemucca, mack, with me you can ride
So I climbed into the cab and then I settled down inside
He asked me if I’d seen a road with so much dust and sand
And I said, “Listen, I’ve traveled every road in this here land”

I’ve been everywhere, man
I’ve been everywhere, man
Across the deserts bare, man
I’ve breathed the mountain air, man
Of travel I’ve had my share, man
I’ve been everywhere

I’ve been to Reno, Chicago, Fargo
Minnesota, Buffalo, Toronto, Winslow
Sarasota, Wichita, Tulsa, Ottawa
Oklahoma, Tampa, Panama
Mattawa, La Paloma, Bangor
Baltimore, Salvador, Amarillo
Tocopilla, Barranquilla and
Padilla, I’m a killer

I’ve been everywhere, man
I’ve been everywhere, man
Across the deserts bare, man
I’ve breathed the mountain air, man
Of travel I’ve had my share, man
I’ve been everywhere

I’ve been to BostonCharleston, Dayton
LouisianaWashington, Houston
Kingston, Texarkana, Monterey, Ferriday
Santa Fe, Tallahoosa, Glen Rock
Black Rock, Little Rock, Oskaloosa
Tennessee, Hennessey, Chicopee Spirit Lake
Grand Lake, Devil’s Lake, Crater Lake, for Pete’s sake

I’ve been everywhere, man
I’ve been everywhere, man
Across the deserts bare, man
I’ve breathed the mountain air, man
Of travel I’ve had my share, man
I’ve been everywhere

I’ve been to Louisville, Nashville (not yet, but this weekend!)
Knoxville, Ombabika, Shefferville
Jacksonville, Water ville, Costa Rica
Pittsfield, Springfield, Bakersfield
Shreveport, Hackensack, Cadillac
Fond Du Lac, Davenport, Idaho, Jellicoe
Argentina, Diamontina, Pasadena
Catalina, see what I mean’a

I’ve been everywhere, man
I’ve been everywhere, man
Across the deserts bare, man
I’ve breathed the mountain air, man
Of travel I’ve had my share, man
I’ve been everywhere

Pittsburgh, Parkersburg, Gravellburg
Colorado, Ellensburg, Rexburg, Vicksburg
El Dorado, Larimore, Atmore, Haverstraw
Chattanika, Chaska Nebraska, Alaska
Opelika, Baraboo, Waterloo, Kalamazoo
Kansas City, Sioux City, Cedar City
Dodge City, what a pity

I’ve been everywhere, man
I’ve been everywhere, man
Across the deserts bare, man
I’ve breathed the mountain air, man
Of travel I’ve had my share, man
I’ve been everywhere
I’ve been everywhere…

Categories: Post Cards, Texas

Tags: , , ,

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

