#17: Connecticut

“He who transplanted still sustains.” (Qui Transtulit Sustinet) – Connecticut State Motto

It’s been about a week since my last post card, so I thought I would ease into it by posting one of my home state! I spent the first 18 years of my life in Connecticut, before moving to New York, Arizona, and Pennsylvania for school or for work. My family lives in one of the largest cities in Connecticut, about an hour’s drive from New York City, and about 15 minutes from Long Island Sound.

pc17

pc17back

A few key things about this location have influenced me deeply:

  • New England is my favorite region of the US for its seasons – having a full four seasons was one of the things I missed most when we lived in Arizona. My favorite by far is the glorious, vibrant autumn. Nothing beats the changing colors of the foliage in New England. The best drive in Connecticut to see see autumn’s colors is a drive up the scenic Merritt Parkway.

    Merritt Parkway in Ct via Westport.Patch.com,  Credit: Josh Semendoff

    Merritt Parkway in Ct via Westport.Patch.com, Credit: Josh Semendoff

  • The seafood – oh the seafood! I loved living near the ocean because I could eat seafood all day every day without getting sick of it. Lobster, crab legs, clams, scallops, mussels, oysters (my personal favorite)… Don’t forget halibut, cod, or haddock drizzled with butter and a squirt of fresh lemon… my mouth is watering just thinking about it!
  • Actually, the food in general. Nothing beats Vermont extra sharp cheddar, or Ben and Jerry’s ice cream (also from Vermont), or fresh cranberry sauce, or clam chowder (‘chowdah’ if you’re from the Boston area). And some sources claim the Hamburger was invented in New Haven, Connecticut!

And on a lighter note, a few highlights from comedian Jeff Foxworthy’s “You know you are a true New Englander when“:

  • You measure distance in hours.
  • You can drive 65 mph through 2 feet of snow during a raging blizzard, without flinching.
  • Vacation means going South past New York City for the weekend.
Categories: Connecticut, Post Cards

Tags: , , ,

7 replies

  1. I love your idea of showing postcards of the places you have visited. It adds just another layer to your description of “place”. I’m really enjoying them!

  2. Now I’m missing the CT coast again…
    What part of the state are you from, my geography is a touch rusty I haven’t been out there in about 10 years.

  3. Love the “Postcard” posts. I’ve always been a sucker for old postcards. Your blog is interesting, and very, very well done. I also love your travel philosophy. Bravo!

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

