Yes, You Have Reached the Right Destination

Cross Country Move 093

“Those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.” – George Bernard Shaw

If you’re wondering why this looks nothing like the wanderoneday.com you’ve come to know and (hopefully) love, it’s because I’ve provided a much-needed blog overhaul! (Update: Just in time too, this is my 100th post!) Thanks to everyone who provided feedback in my recent poll. New features include:

  • a spotlight on my post card collection on the home page,
  • a much needed improvement in navigability through the top menu bars,
  • click through to previous or next posts at the end of each post,
  • and the feature I’ve been wanting to add for a while – “recommended” posts at the bottom of each post!

Let me know what you think about the new layout! I still have a little bit of tweaking to do on the navigation and categorization of posts, but I feel like I have a clearer picture of where I want to take this blog now that the site is better organized. But my blog is not the only thing going through major changes right now.

  • I’ve recently started a personal training program at the gym, and holy cow am I glad I did. I’ve only had 1 1/2 sessions so far, and my muscles have been protesting for days! There is no way I would have put myself through that level of effort without someone pushing me to do so. On the bright side, in the week and a half since I started, I’ve lost 5 pounds! 
  • My husband has quit his second job. He’s been working 62+ hours per week for probably 6 months now, and it has taken a toll. He is always tired and almost never has time to just relax and enjoy himself. While the decrease in income will put a dent in our fun for the short term, my happiness at his happiness will far outweigh any monetary inconveniences. And hopefully we’ll have some free time to take some day trips around Pennsylvania together.
  • My career is about to get serious. Well, the career is as serious as it’s ever been, but the amount of effort I need to expend outside of the normal 40 hours is about to increase dramatically. I have a huge 8 hour test coming up in April (hopefully, I’m waiting for the go-ahead to register) and I need to start studying. If I fail, I can always take the test again in October, but that’s embarrassing and expensive (the test costs $450 and my company only pays if you pass).

Luckily, those are the only major changes right now. I’m still planning major travel for the upcoming year, we’re still not ready to have kids, and we’re still paying off our student loans (though I wish this changed and we didn’t have any more loans!). I hope you like the new layout as much as I do!

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

9 replies

  1. Congratulations! The site looks great. Are you still going to post once a day when you prepare for you exam?

    • Thank you! I’m glad you like it.

      I do plan to post once per day, though probably at most once per day (unlike recently – I’ve posted over 50 times in the month of January!). I have quite a few post cards I can post that don’t really warrant a long discussion because they aren’t of a specific place and they don’t have any text on the back, so I plan to get those ready ahead of time as a backup.

      I will definitely keep posting though – I’ll need it as a break from studying!

  2. You did a great job with your new site. Giving you a tip for passing that exam-visualize yourself a few days after the exam feeling wonderful because you passed it, see yourself celebrating the passing of the exam, imagine your boss congratulating you on passing the exam, and you will surely pass it. Good Luck! Sandi

    • Good call on the visualization. Normally I work myself up into a ball of stress the day before an exam like this, convinced I’ll fail and everything will fall apart… but then if I’ve prepared sufficiently, I normally pass, so all that stress is for nothing. Hopefully I can do things a little smarter this time 🙂

  3. Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. Well done — the blog looks good and is easier to get around. I wish you all the best with your studies, and I wish you fantastic adventures this year. Cheers!

  4. Love the layout! The vintage map on the side – tres chic!

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

