Tentative Itinerary: Nashville, TN

Nashville: Pictures
This photo of Nashville is courtesy of TripAdvisor

Now that I’m within two weeks of my trip to Nashville, it’s time to get my itinerary straightened out.

  1. First, I start by identifying my constraints:
    • Friday:
      – Flight to Nashville: After I arrive at the airport, I have to pick up my rental car. That means I’ll be leaving the airport by 11:00/11:30 am on Friday.
      – Sorority event: I need to be at the event by 4:00/4:30 pm. Events run until around 10pm.
    • Saturday:
      – Sorority event: Events start at 9:00 am and run until 9:00 pm. There is a good chance I’ll have a break between 10:00 am and 1:30 pm.
    • Sunday:
      – Sorority event: Events start at 9:00 am and run until 10:30 am.
      – Flight from Nashville: I need to be back at the airport to drop my car off and catch my flight by 2:30 / 3:00 pm on Sunday.

    Nashville: Pictures
    This photo of Nashville is courtesy of TripAdvisor

  2. Next, I find activities that fit within my blocks of free time:
    • Grand Ole Opry:
      – No trip to Nashville would be complete without a trip to the Grand Ole Opry, the veritable “world headquarters” of country music. Unfortunately, the show itself takes place at 7:00pm on Friday and Saturday nights, when I’ll be smack dab in the middle of my sorority events. BUT… upon checking out the Opry’s website, I found that they have tours of the Opry available throughout the day! My current plan is to visit the Opry for a tour on Sunday, between leaving my sorority events and going back to the airport. Since the Opry is not in downtown Nashville, I’ll have to go out of my way to see the Opry – that is the only reason I haven’t booked my tour tickets yet, I’m not 100% sure I’ll make it there.
    • Ryman Auditorium:
      – The Ryman Auditorium used to be the home of the Grand Ole Opry, but now it hosts all sorts of performances – from Alan Jackson to Fun. to The Shins. This is located in downtown Nashville, and you can take a self-guided tour, so I’ve got this in my plans for mid-day Friday, between the time I arrive at the airport and the time I need to be at my sorority events.
    • Live Music:
      – I was going to do some research into places to hear live music in Nashville, but there seem to be too many to count! So my current plan will be to go downtown, and wander to whatever sounds good! We followed a similar plan when we were on Bourbon Street in New Orleans – there were so many places with great music that we just followed our ears.

    Nashville: Images
    This photo of Nashville is courtesy of TripAdvisor

  3. Finally, set a tentative schedule and gather any helpful documents.
    • Parking:
      – Since I’ll be driving downtown, I’ll need somewhere to park. I’ve downloaded the parking map as a pdf in case I have limited internet signal on my phone.
    • Schedule: 
      – That leaves a tentative schedule that looks like this:
Time

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

09:00 AM

Travel

Sorority

Sorority

10:00 AM

Travel

Sorority

Sorority

11:00 AM

DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

Sorority

DRIVING

12:00 AM

DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

Sorority

GRAND OLE OPRY TOUR

01:00 PM

DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

Sorority

GRAND OLE OPRY TOUR

02:00 PM DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

Sorority

DRIVING

03:00 PM

DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

Sorority

Travel

04:00 PM

DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

Sorority

Travel

05:00 PM

Sorority

Sorority

Travel

06:00 PM

Sorority

Sorority

Travel

07:00 PM

Sorority

Sorority

Travel

08:00 PM

Sorority

Sorority

Travel

09:00 PM

Sorority

Sorority

Travel

10:00 PM

Sorority

DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE??

Travel

Late night +

FIND LIVE MUSIC  IN DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

FIND LIVE MUSIC IN DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE

HOME

Now that I’ve got a few plans for Nashville, I’m really excited for the trip!

Categories: Itinerary, Planning, Tennessee

Tags: , , ,

5 replies

  1. Make sure you go to the restaurant Pucketts if your in the mood for Southern food. Their shrimp and grits are amazing. For Thai go to Thai Phooket, it’s a hole in the wall but their curry is amazing. Also, don’t forget to tour Germantown and downtown Franklin.

    • Thanks! I will look into those places. I’m not sure how much time I’ll have for sightseeing in regions outside of downtown Nashville, but if I get the chance I’ll be sure to check out the places you mentioned!

  2. I LOVE visiting Nashville. I always refer to the goop.com web site for ideas. Gwyneth Paltrow spent tons of time there filming “Country Strong” and has great recommendations for shopping, food, entertainment. I love Fidos for coffee and breakfast, Pancake Pantry for a classic pancake breakfast, 2 Old Hippies (for shopping), Margot’s for upscale dining, City House, the Patterson House for a great late night drink. I could go on and on.. Enjoy!

    • Awesome – thanks for the recommendations! I have visited goop before, but haven’t been in quite a while (most of her tips aren’t really applicable to me). I didn’t realize she posted so much about Nashville! But thank you for the food/drink recommendations – I’ve got to find lunch tomorrow so I’ve been looking for ideas!

Trackbacks

  1. Packing List: 3 Days in Nashville « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

