Monthly Guideline Update

When the New Year rolled around, I made a few guidelines for 2013. I’m not very good at keeping resolutions – the word itself implies that to keep it, you must not break it at all. But I know that I’m likely to fall of the wagon and have to climb back on again and again – so the guidelines are a little more general, and allow for a few slip-ups here and there.

From my New Year’s guidelines post:

I wanted to make a few guidelines for 2013, so I can prioritize my time, energy, and money.
1. Travel more, even to local destinations.
2. Improve my fitness so when I get the chance to climb to Machu Picchu one day, my fitness level won’t hold me back.
3. Waste less time. If I want to watch my favorite TV shows, I should at least be folding laundry or crocheting at the same time. The shows do not require 100% concentration.

Well, I’ve definitely made some progress on these so far!

1. Travel more.

I’ll be traveling to Nashville in two weeks for a sorority event, and I can’t wait! I booked a car rental for my time there, so beyond the fixed itinerary for the event, I’ll find a few hours here and there to visit downtown Nashville. Hopefully I can find some places with excellent live music on Saturday night – any suggestions?

My husband recently gave two weeks’ notice for one of his two jobs, so soon he’ll only be working 42 hours per week instead of 62+ hours per week. We’ll have much more time to go on short weekend trips after he is done with his second job – I’ve been after him to get his passport photo taken so we can go to Niagara Falls if the opportunity presents itself!

 

2. Improve my fitness.

I knew I needed outside help to get me out of my fitness slump, so I took the plunge and hired a personal trainer at the gym. I meet with him once per week, and he sends me through a series of exercises that will help me to tone up my muscles.

I can easily convince myself to do cardio on the elliptical or the spin bikes, but I’ve always had a hard time with the strength training exercises. I need someone who will not care if I hate a certain exercise (prone leg curls and lunges, I’m looking at you!) and will make me do it anyway.

When I signed up for the training sessions, they asked a bunch of standard questions about things like how dedicated I will be to working out, what bad health habits I had that I wanted to change, and what my motivation for this change was. I’ve printed out a picture of Machu Picchu and keep it in my gym bag. Every time I go to the gym, I see it, and my goal, and it keeps me motivated.

Machu Picchu - source: nationalgeographic.com

Machu Picchu – source: nationalgeographic.com

So as I write this, I’m sitting in our comfy recliner complaining about how sore my muscles are. I had a freebie session on Thursday, and now on Sunday, 3 days later, my arms have finally stopped hurting. But yesterday, on Saturday, I had my first real 25 minute session, and my legs are hating me for it today.

I can’t wait until I get past the point where it hurts to walk after a session – I’ve gone through this intial phase before and I know it does get easier. Since I had to sign a year-long contract for training (once per week for the first 6 months, once every two weeks for the second 6 months), and I hate wasting money, I’m stuck going to training for the next year!

 

3. Waste less time. 

This one has been the easiest to overcome. In fact, I just input all of the tax information we’ve received so far while watching a couple episodes of Dr. Who! The other day, I spent 2 1/2 episodes of Dr. Who folding laundry (yes, we had let that much clean laundry pile up unfolded). And I’ve also watched a few travel shows (ancient Mysteries: Canals of Venice, National Geographic: Through the Lens, and Modern Marvels: Eiffel Tower) while writing blog posts.

 

So far, I’ve made some pretty good progress! I want to post on this once per month between the 20th and the 30th so that I can keep myself accountable (to myself). So far, so good!

Categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. Such a great post. Resolutions are hard to keep, but small, attainable goals are much more sustainable. The road trip to Niagara is a great one. If you head up that way, be sure to stop in Buffalo for some original hot wings at Frank and Teressa’s Anchor Bar. Happy travels and best wishes in 2013. Cheers!

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

