My first travel video: Pennsylvania Farm Show

When I said earlier today that I would be putting together a more comprehensive post about the 2013 Pennsylvania Farm Show, I was secretly referring to my very first travel video! Please take 3 minutes out of your day to watch the first travel video I’ve ever compiled. Let me know what you think below in the comment section – I’m really excited to hear your opinions and suggestions!

 

I know the video quality is a little low, I will try to improve that on future videos. I really just wanted to shake off the nervousness that accompanies the very first video I’ve ever made!

Categories: Day Trips, Itinerary, Pennsylvania, Summary, Video

Tags: , , , ,

9 replies

  1. Nice video .B R A V O >jalal

  2. I just got around to watching your video. My expectations were low because you wrote that the quality is low. OMG! It was fabulous! How long did it take you to put the thing together? It looks like a lot of work .

    Two questions (in case I want to follow your footsteps):
    1. How did you put together the intro? It looks really professional.
    2. What software did you use to edit?

    I do have a few pieces of feedback:
    1. You spoke quietly, I’m a bit hard of hearing, and I had to focus to hear the commentary.
    2. The map was great, but I didn’t understand where I was the first time I saw it. It would be nice to get an initial overview of the map, and then go into alternating shots of the map and the fair.
    3. The intro is amazing, but a bit long.

    Overall, amazing job. I can’t believe that this is what a first attempt looks like. Also, I love the focus on a “local” event (I know it’s not local for all your readers). There’s a lot of blog content on travel to exotic destinations, which is fabulous, but that doesn’t help me plan my weekend. This highlights a great event I could easily access. Thank you!

    • Thank you so much for your comment – your feedback was exactly what I was hoping for πŸ™‚ It did take me quite a while to put together. I did some research on making good videos ahead of time (1-2 hours), some time recording videos and photos at the Farm Show (2-4 hours off an on), and then a bunch of time editing (5-6 hours). All in all then, maybe 10-12 hours. I assume that making a second video would be easier than the very first, but I would still estimate 5-6 hours of time in all.

      In response to your questions:
      1. The intro was put together using animoto.com. You can make free videos up to 30 seconds long by using one of their templates and uploading your own photos, text, and music (I used music I found on a royalty-free music site).
      2. I used mainly Windows Live Movie Maker to make the video itself, though I did also use CamStudio to record my screen of the map, Any Video Converter to convert the .mov movies from my iPhone into .wmv for use in Movie Maker, and Audacity to remove background noise from the recordings and increase the volume of the videos.

      And on to your feedback:
      1. Yes, it was quiet. I did actually amplify the volume of my recording, but I suppose I should have done so a little more.
      2. Thanks for the suggestion on the map. I’ll keep that in mind – it was clear to me because I spent so much time walking around the show and looking at the map, but I can see how it would be a little hard to understand without context.
      3. I do agree the intro was a little long. I played around with a shorter intro (15 seconds compared to 30) but it was such fun watching it that I ended up leaving in the longer version. I will definitely shorten it for future videos.

      Thank you so much for your comment! If you have any other questions, as one newbie-video-maker to another, let me know. Despite all the work, it was a ton of fun, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

