Review: Final Impressions: Telestial Pack Lite Cell Phone

Now that I’ve returned from my trip to St. Kitts, I wanted to follow up on my initial review of the Telestial Pack Lite Cell Phone. I’ve got both good and bad things to say about it. It worked well, and then it didn’t work at all (which could have been highly inconvenient), and then I learned they have excellent customer service.

telestialphone

It worked:

While I was on St. Kitts, I was able to use the phone without any trouble at all. I was worried at first – it does not work in the US, so I had not been able to test it out before leaving.

But it worked well, and it was simple to use. I used it a few times at the beginning of my trip, to call/text with my husband back in the States, and to let my parents know I survived the flight.

And then… it didn’t work:

After a few days of use, the battery died, which is to be expected after having the phone on and using it periodically over a 3-4 day period. In fact, 3-4 days seems like a really long time since I’m used to smart phones that need to be recharged every day or so.

But what really frustrated me was that the charger didn’t work! Or maybe it was the battery, I’m not sure which. Either way, I could not recharge it.

Luckily, my friend let me borrow her phone as needed (to get myself to and from the Marriott for spa day, or to call British Airways / Airtran / Hotels.com / Hosteria Del Mar to reschedule my hotels and flights after Hurricane Sandy wreaked havoc on the airlines).

But they have excellent customer service!

After I got back to the States, I forgot all about the phone in a flurry of holiday activities. But then I received an email the other day letting me know that the US phone number assigned to my phone was expiring (the global phone number does not change) unless I were to use the phone soon. Well, I was not leaving the country any time soon, and it doesn’t really matter to me that I keep the US phone number the same – I can just get a new number assigned before I leave for another international trip.

But it reminded me that I really did not need the US phone number, because my phone doesn’t even work!

So I called up the customer service number listed on their website (the US number for calls within the US – they also have a number for US calls from outside of the US, and numbers for calls from other global regions).

I explained my issue – the phone worked well, but then it wouldn’t charge, and that I didn’t know if it was the phone, the battery, or the charger. With no hassle whatsoever, the representative said he would send me a new battery and a new charger at no cost to me. Great!

Now I’m just waiting to receive the charger/battery to see if the phone works again. I’ll post an update later, because there is one more aspect of the Telestial eKit system I want to review – an automatically updating travel journal that uses your phone location to record key parts of your trip!

UPDATE: I received the charger and the battery, and it still didn’t work. I called them up again, got another very helpful customer service agent, and they sent out a new phone with a prepaid shipping envelope to return the non-functioning phone. I’ve tested the new phone, and it does charge. So now I’m all set for our Europe trip!

Categories: Review: Tech, Technology, Travel Tool

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. Review: First Impressions: Telestial Pack Lite Cell Phone « wander one day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

