#10: Groetjes uit Holland

Confession time: Not every post card in my giant post card collection was sent to me.

My friends and family know about my collection, and if they receive one from someone else, they often ask if I would like it for my collection. This next one was sent from my father to my brother, nearly 24 years ago.

Groetjes uit Holland

PC9

Shortly after my brother was born (I was about 3 years old at the time), my dad had to go away on business for a couple months. He does that frequently now – his job requires visiting wind tunnels around the world to run tests. But at the time, it was his first business trip outside the US.

My mom was very upset and anxious. How could he leave her with a 3 year old and an infant for months!? She didn’t sign up for this!

Both my mom and dad had family nearby in case of emergencies, and luckily I was a good kid – I helped out instead of causing trouble (my brother would end up being the trouble maker). But it was still a lot of work for my mom.

My memories don’t really go this far back, but I know around this time I really started reading like crazy. Once I got the hang of reading at age 3, I would just sit for hours and hours reading books that grew more and more challenging (according to my mom, my favorite book around that time was a dinosaur book – I loved figuring out the long, complicated dinosaur names!). So I think I pretty much took care of entertaining myself while my mom took care of my brother.

I think my dad felt both guilty about leaving and proud that he had a son, because he sent this post card to my brother.

Hi T…

I know you’re getting to be a real big boy.

Soon I’ll be home and we’ll get to have fun.

I love you son,

Dad

I got some souvenirs from his trip as well – a cute little doll dressed in traditional dutch clothing. But I’m glad that my brother gave this post card to me for my collection. My brother is like a miniature version of my dad – from his appearance, to his mannerisms, everything. The only difference between them is that my brother has a horrible sense of direction and is not technically-minded (I got the good sense of direction and technical skills from my dad instad).

I also cherish this post card because it immortalizes my dad’s terrible handwriting. I’ve always found that certain professions have horrible penmanship – engineers, doctors, etc. This was certainly true in my dad’s case! (And mine… while I can still write very well when I try, most of the time I don’t care and I just scribble down notes as quickly as possible). My mom, on the other hand, has beautiful penmanship. She is a first grade teacher, so she needs to have good handwriting so she can teach her students.

It’s interesting what sort of memories these post cards can bring up – from travel, to reading, to penmanship. That’s what I love about my collection!

Categories: Memories, Netherlands, Post Cards

Tags: , ,

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

