Eat to Beat Jet Lag

Hmm… Not sure if this will work or not, but it’s worth a shot! I won’t have much trouble flying to Europe, as I’m pretty awesome at sleeping on planes, but I know my mom has a lot of anxiety about flying and might not be able to sleep on the overnight flight. I think I’ll pass this along to her to see if it helps her!

Boca Express Travel

 

 

 

Where was this when I needed it?  I have had a week of complete blur since I got off the plane from Europe!  I did everything I tell people to do and STILL got hit between the eyes with Jet Lag!!!!

 

jet lag

View original post

Categories: Travel Tool

Tags: ,

4 replies

  1. I like “reset my body clock” before I go to Europe. A week or two before my departure, I start waking up progressively earlier, so that by the day of my departure I’m up between 3 and 4 in the morning, which is between 9 and 10 in morning in most of Europe. It helps a bit. I think the biggest problems with flights to Europe is that they’re so short. You can’t get a good nights sleep between dinner and breakfast. Flying to the Middle East is great, in 14 hours you can get a full night’s sleep, and you usually arrive in the afternoon. Just in time to wander around your destination in a daze before going to sleep in a bed. I didn’t even get jetlag when I went to Jordan this fall.

    • Oh wow – I like your idea of resetting your body clock by waking up progressively earlier, but that sounds nearly impossible, knowing myself! Normally, it’s all I can do to get myself out of bed and to the car by 7:30am to get to work on time!

      I think the 7 hour flight to Europe will be eased a little by the fact that when we get there, it will still be the middle of the day, so we’ll have some sunlight to adjust.

  2. You’re lucky you sleep well on planes! This sounds like an interesting plan – eating to beat jetlag… I’ll try anything! Setting your body clock back, getting sunlight on arrival and staying up as late as you can on your first day works too. I generally find flying East-ward is when I get hit with jet lag the hardest! Safe travels!

    • Yeah, I think going from the US to Europe will be pretty easy – we’ll be tired from a long flight, but 11pm in Europe will only be like 5pm here. Going back I’ll be more concerned, though I’ll probably just take a nap on the plane.

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

