#5, 6, and 7: Falling Water

Since I didn’t write about a post card yesterday (I was too busy having fun painting and drinking wine with friends), I’ll post 3 today (one for yesterday, one for today, and one for interest!).

The reason I’m combining them into one post though, is because I have three post cards from the same place, each one in a different season!

Fallingwater

PC567

When I was young, maybe 8 years old or so, my family took a vacation in Pennsylvania. I don’t remember where we were going, or where we were staying that time (we vacationed in PA several times), but one year we made a trip to southwestern PA to see a house designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. He is my mom’s favorite architect (and by extension, mine, because he is the only architect whose name I know!).

PC567back

My dad was a dutiful husband catering to his wife’s interests, and drove us all the way to middle-of-nowhere Pennsylvania to see a house my mom would find interesting, but he had no interest whatsoever in seeing. Instead, he stayed with my brother and me, who were too young to be allowed into the museum.

I can clearly recall walking along a pathway of packed earth, with green foliage along one side, and a walkway to the house on the other side. I was fascinated by what I could see from the path, which was a set of steps leading down to a platform at the water level. What a cool house – to be able to walk down a set of steps and go swimming in a pool made from waterfalls! My 8 year old mind was beyond impressed.

While I was not allowed to tour the inside of the house, it’s probably better that I wasn’t. As a kid, I would have found it terribly boring. But that swimming platform! Amazing!

fallingwater

Pictured: Fallingwater (and the swimming platform at bottom center) from fallingwater.org

I remember another time, on a vacation to Florida, we drove and we drove for what seemed like miles. My dad wouldn’t say where we were going, and as preteens, we were getting pretty impatient. Eventually, we showed up at a random college campus in the middle of summer. No students were around – it was deserted. But then the reason for the surprise trip came clear – the campus had many buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. The chapel, the library, a lecture hall, walkways around the campus… I was young but I was already coming to recognize his unique style.

Danforth Chapel: Lakeland, FL

Danforth Chapel at Florida Southern College, Source: Flickr

When we lived in Arizona, my parents flew out to visit us for a few days. My mom knew that Frank Lloyd Wright had a school in Arizona, so she wanted to take a tour of the school, called Taliesin West. This time, I was old enough and educated enough to appreciate the architecture. I had lived in this desert state for a while, so I knew that impressive views of the surrounding desert landscape could be had. The school, and his house at the school, were definitely meant to draw inspiration from the surrounding desert, while incorporating sustainable practices like passive heating and cooling, and native landscaping.

Taliesin West, Photograph by Greg O’Beirne

Now, one of these days, I need to go back to Fallingwater so that I can see the inside for myself! I just need to decide if I convince my husband to take me (who, like my dad, would not have any interest in seeing it), or if I convince my mom to come for a visit and we make the trip together.

Categories: Memories, Pennsylvania, Post Cards

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Fallingwater’s worth the trek. I went out there this summer, and it was worth flying over from New York to see it.

  2. My dad loves Frank Lloyd Wright too! I loved reading about your visits to his architectural sites. These are some lovely postcards =)

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

