Beating Writers’ Block with “Inspiration”

I’ve been posting like crazy lately – I’ve shared exciting news (saving $1700 on flights to Europe), I’ve written about my vintage post card collection that sparked tons of memories, and I’ve been covering anything else I’ve been feeling enthusiastic about.

But last night, I had big, old, nasty writers’ block.

It happens to everyone. And a few people are disciplined enough to just power through it and write anyway – but not me! I needed some additional “inspiration”, if you’d like to call it that.

Pictured Here: Inspiration

Pictured Here: Inspiration

When I was in St. Kitts, I bought a few souvenirs. A couple Christmas presents, a watercolor print, a spoon rest, a Batik shirt, and a few ingestibles. I brought back some deliciously spicy hot sauce, and some little bottles of locally produced rum in a Batik bag.

I used one of the bottles in the fruitcake I make my dad as a Christmas present every year, but I still have two bottles left.

So the inspiration to overcome my writers’ block is the tasty little rum treat pictured above! This rum, produced and purchased thousands of miles away, gave me a topic to write about, one drinks’ worth of inspiration, and the chance to reminisce about the wonderful relaxation I experienced for 10 days in St. Kitts (I have a feeling the constant rum drinks had something to do with that!).

Note: This form of "inspiration" is not legal in the US.

Note: This form of “inspiration” is not legal in the US.

Categories: Funny, Musings

Tags: , , ,

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

Traveling the world and doing good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

