Ou sont les toilettes, s’il vous plait?

Ever since I tried the Pimsleur Language Lessons CDs, I’ve been looking for a more modern alternative to learning a foreign language. Preferrably, one that is both addicting and practical. I’m looking for something that allows me to learn the vocabulary visually (see how it is spelled), vocally (hear it pronounced), verbally (pronounce it myself), and in context (learn phrases and sentences, not just words). When I saw the post over at The Penniless Traveler, I knew I had found a keeper.

Duolingo is a little less flexible/versatile, because it is still very new. It  doesn’t have very many languages offered, and it requires you to have working speakers/microphone. I’ll have to try out the mobile app and see how it works.

But it is fun! I tried it with my measly beginner French, and my more advanced Spanish – and I definitely enjoyed it. Pronouncing the French vocabulary into the microphone was the most helpful aspect of it. I’m used to Spanish pronunciation, but French is a different story.

So thanks to Rachel at The Penniless Traveler!

Penniless Traveler

Like any adventurous person or excited traveler, I enjoy visiting cultures and environments that are new to me, unfamiliar and exciting. This often means that I am traveling to places where I am unable to ask where the nearest restroom is.

Well…that’s not 100% true. I did take 2 years of French in middle school and I like to pretend that I remember some of that. The real problem here is that I spent four years in the wonderful world that is Latin–which, they neglect to mention, is not a language that will do you much good out in our globalized modern society. (That’s not to say that it didn’t help me kick butt on the SATs.)

As I look forward to at least a couple completely foreign countries on my plate for this year, I realize that I have yet to learn a language besides English.

I think this…

View original post 373 more words

Categories: Language, Review: Website

Tags: , ,

1 reply

  1. You’re welcome! I love your site! So glad you reblogged. Enjoy duolingo!! =)

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

