2013 Guidelines, not Resolutions

I need to hold myself somewhat accountable in 2013. I had a ton of good intentions at the beginning of 2012, but when I broke my foot and had to hobble around on crutches for a few months, I lost all momentum. It also showed me that if I set up my goals at the beginning of the year as “guidelines”, rather than “resolutions”, it helps to keep me on track. My 2012 resolution was to run a half marathon, and it all fell apart when I broke my foot and couldn’t run for 6 months. But if my guideline is to make fitness a priority, and to get back on the wagon if I fall off for a few weeks, it will be easier to get back into good habits after setbacks.

I wanted to make a few guidelines for 2013, so I can prioritize my time, energy, and money.

  1. Travel more, even to local destinations.
  2. Improve my fitness so when I get the chance to climb to Machu Picchu one day, my fitness level won’t hold me back.
  3. Waste less time. If I want to watch my favorite TV shows, I should at least be folding laundry or crocheting at the same time. The shows do not require 100% concentration.

Those three guidelines will be the only ones I really hold myself accountable to for the year. But to add a little more definition to my goals, I thought I would take a little inspiration from Tia at A Caffeinated Brunette, and from Maureen Jenkins for CNN, and put together a list of things to remember, and things to aim for in 2013.

From Maureen at CNN, 8 travel resolutions for 2013:

  1. Take off on your own, even when travelling with a group.
    I’ve done pretty well at this for 2012 – my spa day while in St. Kitts was a solo activity and very refreshing. I imagine my trip to the Sewer Museum in Paris will be the solo activity when I go with my mom – only an engineering nerd would find it interesting!
  2. Don’t let the lack of a foreign language keep you at home.
    I don’t think this has ever been a problem. I figure most places I would go have some basic English, and I can learn the basics, buy a guidebook or play charades for the rest!
  3. If you’re not a ‘tour’ or ‘cruise’ person, give one a shot.
    We’ll see about this one. I think my biggest issue here is that organized excursions like cruises and tours cost a lot more money than I normally spend on a trip.
  4. Don’t be ashamed to fall back on what’s familiar.
    This tends to happen when I get overwhelmed after a week or a few days of trying new things. Sometimes you just want a Starbucks coffee (or I suppose McDonald’s would do in a pinch). Most of the time new is fun and exciting, but time to recharge is important.
  5. Vow not to leave vacation days on the table.
    Never had this problem! I’m always planning my vacation days 6+ months in advance!
  6. Start a travel specific savings account.
    I have a “fun splurge” savings account. I save $10-$20/week automatically, and then I have $500-$1000 per year to use for whatever I want. This past year it was part of a TV, and part of my St. Kitts trip. In 2013, the money will go to our mother/daughter Europe trip!
  7. Do at least one thing that scares you while on the road.
    While I didn’t know it at the start, the horseback ride through the jungle in St. Kitts was a little scary! I had never been on a trail ride where the horses just up and decided to run every once in a while. It was exhilarating though! I think in 2013, the thing that ‘scares me’ will be staying in a hostel. I’m not so much scared of it, as nervous – I’ve heard belongings can be stolen, bedbugs can be caught, etc. But it seems like such a wonderful way to meet new people, so it’ll definitely be worth doing!
  8. Don’t let other people’s fears keep you from going.
    Definitely not an issue here. I might take their fears into account when planning where to go / stay / visit (I’ll try to add in extra safety measures), but I will not let anyone’s fears keep me from going – generally. I’m a little afraid to travel to countries with major strife (the Middle East, some parts of Central/South America), but I’ve got plenty of less daunting countries to visit in the meantime. There will come times of relative safety in those countries, so I’ll keep it on my “someday” list until I feel safe enough to travel to those countries.

And now on to my 2013 Bucket List, inspired by Tia‘s list:

  • Learn basic French
    I need to do this in the next 6 months, before we go to Paris.
  • Improve my intermediate Spanish
    I took 9 years of classes, and then didn’t use it for 9 years – I don’t want to forget what I already know.
  • Go to a new continent
    This one is obvious – Mother/Daughter Europe Trip 2013 is already in the works!
  • Pass the PE test
    This is a big scary 8-hour test I need to pass to become an engineer officially – a huge career goal!
  • Learn how to make Indian food
    Specifically curry – I love it, my husband loves it, but neither of us know how to make it.
  • Continue my annual spa massage tradition
    This one will be easy enough – even if we don’t do the massages while in Europe, the Hershey Chocolate Spa is just 15-20 minutes away from where I live, and I’ve been meaning to go for a while.
  • Run a 5k
    I’ve done these before, but I haven’t done it since I broke my foot. I want to start slowly, work my way from 5k to 10k to half marathon eventually, but I don’t want to hurt my foot again in the process.
  • Hike a small portion of the Appalachian Trail
    There is a segment of the AT that is only 15-20 minutes from where we live, and I want to at least say I hiked a portion of it!
  • Go on a picnic
    My husband took me on a surprise picnic while we were dating – complete with chocolate cake and yummy beer. So picnics always have a romantic link – we can easily find somewhere to have a picnic nearby!

That’s about it!

I know my list for 2013 isn’t very intense – many people have much more ambitious lists. But since I will be spending most of my vacation days and travel budget on the Europe trip, I wanted to make the rest of the activities something I could do locally, and for a small amount of money.

I’m ready for 2013, are you?

Categories: Daydreaming, Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. I’m so happy I inspired you! Thank you so much 🙂 i also love the travel resolutions!
    Great post!

Trackbacks

  1. Day Trips and 3-Day Weekend Trips « wander one day
  2. Resolved to Travel More! « wander one day
  3. Monthly Guideline Update « wander one day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

