Auld Lang Syne 2012

A lot of people are doing year end posts, and I think they are a good idea for a few reasons. One is to highlight my favorite parts of the past year (remembering good times is always fun), and the other is to do a little reflection to help make the new year at least as successful as the previous year.

So here are a handful of questions gleaned from around the web (inspiration from here).

  1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
    I broke a bone (my foot), I painted a picture (several!), and I traveled to another country by myself for the first time ever.
  2. What did you learn about yourself?
    I learned that my desire to see new places is truly insatiable. Every time I get back from one trip, I immediately start planning the next! 
  3. Where did you travel?
    I spent the first few months of the year recovering from a broken foot, so I didn’t do much travelling in the beginning of the year. I eventually did get to New Orleans, Mystic, New York City, and best of all, St. Kitts!
  4. What event from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    The single most memorable moment of 2012 was floating in the warm waters of the Caribbean in St. Kitts. I felt the soft swell of the waves against my back, the warm glow of the sun on my face, and the light breeze keeping me cool. It was the first time I didn’t have anything on my mind, and I was truly present in the moment. No thoughts about work, or how messy my apartment is, or paying down my student loans. All of my thoughts at that moment were focused in the present. It was wonderful.
  5. Where did most of your money go?
    Most of my money went to student loan payments. A lot of it went to rent/utilities, but since I split those with my husband, the total cost was less than my student loan payments.
  6. What did you obsess over?
    Besides travel? I have been obsessing over the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. I’m about halfway through the series and I can’t wait to see how it all turns out!
  7. What do you wish you’d done more of?
    I wish I had done a few more local trips. Sure, I had a couple wonderful week+ vacations in New Orleans and St. Kitts, but for an entire year, I only did two small weekend trips. There are plenty of places within a short drive that deserve my attention! Hand in hand with that is the wish that I had done more blogging. If I had started this blog earlier, I could have done a good detailed writeup of our trip to New Orleans, and maybe I would have been more inspired to do local trips.
  8. What do you wish you’d done less of?
    I wish I had wasted less time. While I did not spend a ton of time watching tv/movies, and I didn’t spend a ton of time browsing the internet, combined they add up to quite a bit of wasted time. Or at least, if I were to watch tv or browse the web, I could have done something else at the same time. I didn’t realize until the end of the year that I didn’t mind folding laundry if I could watch Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy at the same time. I could have gotten so much more laundry done throughout the year if I took this into account!

So that was 2012! I suppose it does give me a little bit of direction for 2013. I will aim to do more small local trips, waste a little less time (or at least multitask when doing something like watching tv), and keep enjoying reading!

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

