Hurry Up and Relax!!

My eyes flew open and I felt the blind panic of early morning disorientation. What time was it!? It was still dark out, but at this time of year, that didn’t give me any clues.

I flailed around until I found my phone in the dark. Two missed calls from my dutiful husband, who had promised to call me between 4 and 430am to make sure I was up for my flight (I set my alarm for 4 and wanted to leave by 430 or 5 at the latest). I was dumb and left my phone on vibrate, so here it was 4:55 and I was still in bed!

Luckily I had done 99% of my planning and packing the day before – so I grabbed my travel outfit, my phone, and my bags and rushed out the door, fingers crossed that I had everything I needed.

I flew down the empty highway, thinking back to the last time I drove this road. Coincidentally, I was also driving 75mph that day and praying as hard as I’ve ever prayed that I wouldn’t be late. My company had just spent tens of thousands of dollars on putting together a package of qualifications for a project that would collect millions of dollars in fees if we got the job. I literally ran in to submit the proposal with 1 minute to spare before the deadline – if I had gone slower, or gotten pulled over, or encountered traffic, we would have been disqualified. Thank God I made it in time, and we eventually got the project!

But maybe it’s just something about that stretch of highway – I always seem to be running late. I was much less stressed this time around… if I missed my flight it would cost me a few hundred dollars to get a new flight – not millions of dollars in revenue!

The security lines I normally use at the Baltimore Airport for Southwest/Airtran were well over 100+ people long – so I took a chance and looked for the third “secret” security line someone mentioned the last time I flew.

It’s not really a secret, but it is downstairs from the two main security gates. I was excited to see exactly one person between me and the ID checkers! I went through the whole process in less than 5 minutes (that includes time to sign my passport -oops!- and get secondary screening for a candle I was carrying for my friend).

Now that I was through security, I had an hour until my flight left, so I indulged in my traditional pre-flight cocktail. It was still only 7am, so I went for the screwdriver over my usual margarita, followed shortly by a stop at Starbucks. While I was waiting for my drink, I heard them announce boarding for my flight! So I hightailed it to my gate and boarded the flight.

My heart was still racing from the adrenaline I’d needed all morning, so as we hurtled down the bumpy runway and the wheels left the tarmac, I felt my stomach drop.

Finally, 30,000 feet in the air and exhausted from my morning’s mad dash, I nodded off and got some of that much-desired rest.

We landed in San Juan a little early, so I had plenty of time before my next flight. The first thing I noticed was how wonderful the airport smells! It is pleasently perfumed and I immediately felt myself relax further.

Now I’m enjoying a cold beer and a light lunch at the airport’s Margaritaville before I board my next flight for my ultimate destination – St. Kitts!

Categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

