Fun and Games: Travel Playlists

Everything at work is conspiring to be due before I leave for vacation. On one hand, that’s great, because it means everything will be taken care of before I leave. But on the other hand, I feel like I’m sprinting toward the finish line this week just to stay ahead of the workload. I really needed an excuse to veg out tonight, so I put together some playlists for my upcoming trip.

I read an excellent article by Ian Mackenzie over at Matador Network. He suggested 6 playlists for common travel situations, including:

  • The Roadtrip
  • The Hammock Chillout
  • The Hostel Pre-Party
  • The Jungle Meditation
  • The Recreational Sport
  • and a Bonus playlist: Bob Marley

He provides suggestions of various artists for each category, so I took a few hints and came up with some of my own playlists. I created a “Window Gazing Playlist” – what I’ll be doing for hours on the plane and in the car. It is laid back and will allow my thoughts and dreams to wander. A second one is a “Soul Appraising Playlist” for times when I want to center myself and clear my mind of extraneous thoughts. Finally, I didn’t want to forget the one I’ll need to get energized for a night out with my friend, the “Roof Raising Playlist“.

1. Window Gazing

1. Jack Johnson – Upside Down
2. Jason Mraz – I’m Yours
3. Dave Matthews – You & Me
4. John Mayer – Waiting On The World To Change
5. Ben Harper – Burn One Down
6. Rusted Root – Send Me On My Way
7. Cat Stevens – Wild World
8. Dave Matthews – Corn Bread (Live At Wrigley Field)
9. Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars
10. Ben Harper – Steal My Kisses

I’ve also got a great playlist for meditative times (which is actually three full albums)…

2. Soul Appraising

1. Relax: A Liquid Mind Experience (8 songs)
2. Loren Nikkel (4 songs)
3. 10 West (4 songs)

Taken on a road trip to the Finger Lakes in New York.

And last but not least,

3. Roof Raising

1. Rihanna – Cheers (Drink To That)
2. Cobra Starship – You Make Me Feel…(Feat. Sabi)
3. Breathe Carolina – Blackout
4. La Roux – Bulletproof
5. Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger
6. David Guetta – Titanium (Feat. Sia)
7. Fun. – Some Nights
8. Maroon 5 – One More Night
9. Fun. – We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monáe)
10. Melanie Amaro – Don’t Fail Me Now

Taken at Pat O’Brien’s, New Orleans, LA

Categories: Daydreaming, Entertainment, Funny, Planning, Technology

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. Daydreaming of Tropical Adventures « wander one day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

