Review: First Impressions: Telestial Pack Lite Cell Phone

Update: Check out the rest of my review, posted after I got back from my trip.

Just under two weeks from now, I’ll be in St. Kitts (hooray!!), so I’m glad my international cell phone arrived before I left. My regular cell phone will not work in the Caribbean islands, since they use quad-band phones and the US uses dual-band phones. I wanted to have a phone for use in (God forbid!) emergencies in foreign countries, so per my previous post, I ordered the “Pack Lite” cell phone from Telestial. I haven’t had a chance to use it yet, but thought I would post some of my initial impressions regarding the phone.

Benefits:

  1. Fairly quick shipping
    – Ordered September 28, received October 3. It wasn’t cheap though, at $13.90. I’m not sure where it ships from, but it is what it is.
  2. Light weight, small size
    – I was shocked to see how light the phone feels in my hand! Even after inserting the battery, it feels to be about half the weight of my normal cell phone (Blackberry Torch).
  3. Helpful customer service
    – I had to call customer service pretty much as soon as I got it – I couldn’t figure out why my phone couldn’t get any service here in the US – more about that in a minute. But someone answered the phone almost immediately, and I was able to understand them clearly. After I provided my “global cell phone number”, which was included in the shipping materials, they were able to pull up my account and tell me the cause of my problem.
  4. Very inexpensive
    – The phone itself costs only $19, which includes the phone, simcard, charger, and $5 of calling time (though when I logged into the website, it showed $10 in credits!). Shipping is a bit pricey at $13.90, but the total (I also threw in an international outlet adapter at $14.99) came to about $40 – not too bad for peace of mind.
  5. Easy refill of calling credits
    – You can set up a credit card in their system so that when you run out of calling credits, it automatically refills your account. You can set a few details, but it is good to know I won’t be stuck with a small brick when I use up my initial credits.

Drawbacks:

  1. Lack of use in the United States
    – This one is entirely my fault. I didn’t read the details very well. The phone that works around the world and in the US costs $50 more than this phone. I didn’t notice the text in the description that states it doesn’t work in the US. It’s there though, I just have poor reading comprehension!
  2. Easy refill of calling credits
    – While it might be helpful to have my credits automatically renewed, it could also be costly if I don’t notice just how much I use. The minimum amount you can have automatically added to your account when it runs low is $30, so you’ll need to either use it up, or use it on a future trip.

I’ll post another review once I get a chance to actually use the phone. But for now, I’m glad it will be with me for my trip!

Categories: Review: Tech, Technology, Travel Tool

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

Trackbacks

  1. Daydreaming of Tropical Adventures « wander one day
  2. Review: Final Impressions: Telestial Pack Lite Cell Phone « wander one day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

