Motivation for Europe in 2013

Krakow, Poland

source: krakow-info.com

My grandparents on my mother’s side were from Poland. They came here after the war and raised a family. They died before I was born, when  my mom was around 30 years old. One of the things my mom remembers most fondly is the trip she took to Europe with her mother, sometime back in the 1970’s.

My mom also recently went through a scare with breast cancer. After having surgery to remove some lumps, she has been deemed alright. But it was a wake up call for me.

Now that I’m older, I have a very different perspective on my mom compared to when I was a kid. Since my husband and I will be having kids in the next few years, I’ve started to more fully appreciate what she sacrificed and did for us when we were young. She had her own business as a graphic designer before we came along – and then she put it on hold to raise us while my dad worked full-time and went to night school for 10 years to get his degree. Financially, it was probably the right decision, since my dad is incredibly smart and well advanced in his career.

But a few years back, I was pretty sure I was about to get engaged to my (now) husband, and I had a long heart-to-heart with my mom. Through our conversation, I realize she lived almost an entirely different life before she met my dad, got married, and had me. They didn’t even meet until my mom was in her 30’s – this might be a common age now but this was almost 30 years ago!

I was completely surprised and caught off guard when I realized just how different my mom’s life was before she began her current incarnation as wife, mom, and teacher. She went to college in the early 1970’s for fine art. She was apparently even engaged to someone who “drove a colorful van” as she put it (!!!) (before he flaked out, she moved on, and eventually met my dad).

I keep asking myself – Who is this person!? My mom is getting older and has had a few health problems. I am slowly realizing that she won’t be around forever – and it is leading to an urgent desire to really get to know her, outside of the roles she has inhabited my whole life, before we run out of time.

So I recently suggested that we should take a trip to Europe together, like she did with her mom. I got the idea a few months ago, so I’ll be tracking the planning process here. I’m so excited!!

Categories: Daydreaming, Musings

Tags: ,

9 replies

  1. That sounds like a great reason to take a trip- I can’t wait to read all about your adventures with your mom! 🙂

    • I am excited 🙂 My mom always seemed so subdued and unadventurous when I was a kid, but the more I learn about her the more I realize she had tons of adventures before I was born! She tends to get overshadowed during conversations with my (much louder) dad and brother, so it’ll be wonderful to hear her thoughts and ideas when she has the chance to express herself.

Trackbacks

  1. Review: First impressions: TripWiser.com « wanderoneday
  2. 2013 Guidelines, not Resolutions « wander one day
  3. Day Trips and 3-Day Weekend Trips « wander one day
  4. Mother/Daughter Europe Trip: Tentative Itinerary « wander one day
  5. Itinerary Planning Process: Amsterdam and Brussels « Wander One Day
  6. Trip Planning Timeline: Months in Advance « Wander One Day

Let me know what you think!

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Sour Mango

My life in photos and other ramblings

A European Summer

A fine WordPress.com site

lifelyricsandpics

Putting my creative self to work through pictures

Thirdeyemom

A Travel Blog - Traveling the World and Doing Good

nicole marie richardson

100 COUNTRIES. 1 LIFETIME. LET'S TRAVEL!

Ming Thein | Photographer

reframing the world one picture at a time

Liberated Traveler

Here to educate, motivate, and liberate.

Travel Geek Mag

Global. Culture. Captured.

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The World is a Windmill

Travel, science, cooking, culture... well, just anything that makes our ever-changing planet beautiful!

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

A True Tall Tale

The Adventures of a Searching Soul

Gasm Travels

A Photographic Journey

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Heather has a travel obsession.

Just a dorky California lady who dreams of world travel.

George On The Go

A 20 something girl circumnavigating the globe, and teaching languages to all those in her wake.

Artist Dave White

Nursery Art, Yoga and Dance Paintings

Travel With Jodi

One Girl, One World, One Big Adventure!

The Art of Bosartis

Computer Art & Me

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Food 4 The Soul 93

Live, love, laugh, grow...

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Your Future, Your World

The best way to predict your future is to create it

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

wishstory

What is CLIPZINE?

Qeysarya

BY ARTISTRY ALLURE

A Tale or Two to Tell......

A great WordPress.com site

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

